Interested in becoming a member? 614.481.6949

Grassroots Action Alert: Ask Ways and Means Members to Co-sponsor Housing Credit Legislation

NAHMA recently received this grassroots action alert from the Affordable Rental Housing ACTION (A Call To Invest in Our Neighborhoods). We encourage our member to participate in this effort to gather more co-sponsors for a permanent extension of a minimum credit rate for the low-income housing tax credit (LIHTC) program. The bill referenced in the alert was first introduced in 2011 by Ohio Representative Patrick Tiberi (R). NAHMA supports this bill.

Please review the information below for more details on this grassroots advocacy alert. If you have any questions, please contact NAHMA staff. (You can use NAHMA Maps to identify your district representative!)

Our Housing Credit champions in the House, Representatives Pat Tiberi (R-OH-12th) and Richard Neal (D-MA-1st), have indicated that they plan to re-introduce their minimum Housing Credit rate legislation from the 112th Congress (H.R. 3661) in late May.  Before they introduce it, they are seeking to gain as many bipartisan co-sponsors from the House Ways and Means Committee as possible.

Below are the current members of the House Ways and Means Committee who previously co-sponsored minimum Housing Credit rate legislation. You can also access the full list of co-sponsors here.

If you are represented by any of these members, we encourage you to ask them to reach out to Representative Tiberi and/or Neal to tell them they will join as original co-sponsors of their minimum Housing Credit rate legislation. You can use our talking points and summary of the fixed vs. floating rate issue to help make your case.  


  • Vern Buchanan (FL-16)
  • Jim Gerlach (PA-6)
  • Tim Griffin (AR-2)
  • Lynn Jenkins (KS-2)
  • Kenny Marchant (TX-24)
  • Devin Nunes (CA-22)
  • Erik Paulsen (MN-3)
  • Dave Reichert (WA-8)
  • Tom Reed (NY-23)
  • Aaron Schock (IL-18)


  • Joseph Crowley (NY-14)
  • Ron Kind (WI-3)
  • John Larson (CT-1)
  • John Lewis (GA-5)
  • Jim McDermott (WA-7)
  • Bill Pascrell (NJ-9)
  • Charles Rangel (NY-13)
  • Linda Sanchez (CA-38)
  • Mike Thompson (CA-5)

We also encourage you to contact any other members of the Ways and Means Committee with whom you have a relationship, particularly new Committee members that were not on the Committee in the 112th Congress, to urge them to support the Tiberi/Neal bill and tell Tiberi’s or Neal’s staff that they will join as co-sponsors.

Leave a Reply