Interested in becoming a member? 614.481.6949

mahma@caahq.com

HUD Update: Follow-up HUD Shutdown Information

11 January 2019
 January 11, 2019
Category HUD News, Latest

HUD HQ requested that NAHMA share the email below, as this email message was recently sent to O/As with contracts facing immediate funding lapses.  This week, NAHMA, our industry partners, and national media outlets learned that an estimated 1,150 contracts were not renewed prior to government shutdown, despite HUD’s assurances prior to government shutdown. Specifically, HUD was not able to renew 650 rental assistance contracts up for renewal in December and an additional 500 January contracts will not be renewed. If you are one of these contracts, it is imperative you follow the guidance in the email below and the attached memo to ensure you are speaking with the appropriate HUD staff that can address your problem.  Due to the government shutdown, HUD is operating with a very limited staff nationally.

At this time, it is imperative that ALL Members review and monitor the funding level on your contracts.  With the exception of the 1,150 non-renewal contracts, described above, it is NAHMA’s understanding that all other PBRA contracts have funding or access to reserves to at least cover January and February operations.  If this is not the case, please reply to this email and let me know as soon as possible.

Later today, a NAHMA Grassroots Alert will also be sent to members with updated advocacy information on contacting Governors, Representatives, Senators, and local media outlets.

From: Larson, Jennifer L <Jennifer.L.Larson@hud.gov>
Sent: Wednesday, January 09, 2019 4:43 PM
To: Larson, Jennifer L <Jennifer.L.Larson@hud.gov>
Subject: Follow-up HUD shutdown information

Good afternoon,

As mentioned in the January 4 letter (attached) to owners/agents of HUD-assisted properties, most properties are receiving rental subsidy payments as usual.  If your property is not receiving payment or is experiencing an emergency situation and has a Reserve for Replacement account subject to HUD oversight, you may request to utilize those funds to pay property operating expenses.

To ensure your request is promptly processed during the shutdown period, please complete form HUD-9250 and submit via email to the Asset Management Division Director of your assigned HUD field office, according to the list below. The form must include the current balance in the account, a withdrawal amount, and the remaining balance. It should also include a statement confirming that the released funds will be reimbursed to the reserve for replacement account once HUD appropriations funding is restored.

If you are not sure of your assigned HUD office or asset director, please contact Jen Larson at Jennifer.L.Larson@hud.gov.

Atlanta Tawana Anderson – Tawana.L.Anderson@hud.gov
Baltimore Brenda Brown – Brenda.J.Brown@hud.gov
Boston Joe Crisafulli – Joe.Crisafulli@hud.gov
Chicago Debbie Gray – Debbie.Gray@hud.gov
Denver Eileen Hearty – Eileen.M.Hearty@hud.gov
Detroit Susie Sapilewski – Susie.Sapilewski@hud.gov
Fort Worth Christie Newhouse – Christie.M.Newhouse@hud.gov
Jacksonville Laurelei McKnight – Laurelei.Mcknight@hud.gov
Kansas City Ed Manning – Edward.P.Manning@hud.gov
Minneapolis Laura Simpson – Laura.Simpson@hud.gov
New York Dean Santa – Dean.J.Santa@hud.gov
San Francisco Janea Jackson – Janea.J.Jackson@hud.gov

 

 

Jen Larson

Director, Asset and Counterparty Oversight Division

US Department of Housing and Urban Development

Office of Asset Management and Portfolio Oversight (OAMPO)

(202) 402 -7141

 

Comments are closed.