Interested in becoming a member? 614.481.6949

NAHMA Announces 2015 Vanguard Award Deadline

The deadline for submissions for the National Affordable Housing Management Association (NAHMA) 2015 Affordable Housing Vanguard Award is April 3. To download the application, visit

The Vanguard Award celebrates success in the multifamily affordable housing industry by recognizing and benchmarking newly developed or significantly rehabbed affordable multifamily housing communities that showcase high-quality design and resourceful financing. The award:

  • Pays tribute to developers of high-quality affordable housing.
  • Demonstrates that exceptional new affordable housing is available across the country, and that it is a positive addition to any neighborhood.
  • Demonstrates that the affordable multifamily industry must be creative and innovative to create exceptional properties given the financing and other challenges to development.
  • Highlights results of private-public partnerships required to develop today’s affordable housing.
  • Shares ideas for unique design and financing mechanisms with industry practitioners to further stimulate creative development in the affordable multifamily industry.

The Vanguard Award complements NAHMA’s Communities of Quality® (COQ) National Recognition Program through which multifamily properties are certified as having achieved a high standard of excellence in the way they are managed, the services they provide residents, the experience and training of personnel and other criteria. However, newly developed properties are too new to meet criteria of the recognition program, particularly in the inspection and financial audit categories, hence the creation of the Vanguard Award to recognize these properties. As the properties mature, they will become eligible–and will be encouraged–to enter NAHMA’s COQ National Recognition Program.

This year’s Vanguard Award program is sponsored by the NAHMA-endorsed Multifamily Affordable Housing Insurance Program (MAHIP), provided by Wells Fargo Insurance Services. For details on the national resources, depth-of-industry understanding and market strength of the MAHIP program, visit “Wells Fargo is a proud sponsor of the Vanguard Award,” commented Megan Davidson, ARM, CRIS, vice president of Wells Fargo Insurance Services USA, Inc. “We appreciate and support what you do to make communities better and safer places to live and thrive. Wells Fargo believes and supports affordable housing from a lending and investment standpoint, as one of the largest providers of insurance to affordable housing providers, and as volunteers and supporters of organizations such as Habitat for Humanity. Our goal is to support your success by financially protecting what you value most, and fulfilling all your commercial insurance needs,” she said.

Vanguard Award Categories:

A. New Construction–two subcategories: more than 100 units and under 100 units.

B. Major Rehabilitation of an Existing Rental Housing Community.

C. Major Rehabilitation of a Nonhousing Structure into Affordable Rental Housing.

D. Major Rehabilitation of a Historic Structure into Affordable Rental Housing.

Who May Apply:

Affordable multifamily housing communities that are less than 3 years old, as of April 3, 2015, may apply–based on date of completion of new construction or completion of major rehab. Please note: A management company may submit only one entry for each category. Affordable is defined as a property participating in a government funded, insured or otherwise sponsored program that results in rents that are below market-rate housing.

Where and When to Apply:

Applications should be submitted to the National Affordable Housing Management Association by April 3. Please email your PDF application to NAHMA at or mail a CD containing your PDF application to NAHMA Vanguard Award, 400 N. Columbus St., Suite 203, Alexandria, VA 22314. To download the application, visit Applications must be submitted in PDF format.

Entry Fees:

The entry fee is $150 per property for members of NAHMA or an AHMA, and $325 per property for nonmembers. Please reference the name of the applicant property when submitting payment, via either credit card at the NAHMA Online Store at, or via check payable to NAHMA and mailed with a completed application to NAHMA Vanguard Award, 400 N. Columbus St., Suite 203, Alexandria, VA 22314.

The Judging Process:

NAHMA will convene a distinguished panel of multifamily affordable housing practitioners in early April to conduct the judging process.

The Awards Ceremony:

Winners of the Affordable Housing Vanguard Award will be recognized at an awards ceremony at the NAHMA Public Policy Issues Forum in June 2015 in Las Vegas.

Beyond the Recognition–Other Benefits of Participation:

– A congratulations letter and certificate.

– A draft press release for use with local media.

– A draft letter for sending to Congressional representatives.

– A free subscription to NAHMA News ($100 value).

– A crystal award.

– A press release distributed by NAHMA to national media and trade press.

– A detailed article on award winners in NAHMA News and on the NAHMA website.

NAHMA is the leading voice for affordable housing management, advocating on behalf of multifamily property managers and owners whose mission is to provide quality affordable housing. NAHMA supports legislative and regulatory policy that promotes the development and preservation of decent and safe affordable housing, is a vital resource for technical education and information and fosters strategic relations between government and industry. Founded in 1990, NAHMA’s membership today includes the industry’s most distinguished multifamily owners and management companies. Visit for more information.

Leave a Reply